4 books to read if you loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

There’s two weeks until the movie adaption of the New York Times bestselling Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is in theaters and I cannot wait. To help the wait seem less long, here are four books to read if you loved Miss Peregrine’s.

In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

If you liked the vintage pictures and feel of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, you’ll love this Cat Winters novel.ย In the Shadow of Blackbirds follows teen Mary Shelley Black during the Spanish influenza epidemic. Mary has never believed in ghosts- until she sees one herself.

Compulsion by Martina Boone

Compulsion follows sarcastic teen Barrie who moves to a southern plantation after the death of her mother. Barrie goes to the plantation looking for closure, but instead finds herself at the center of a curse that’s plagued her family for generations. This will appeal to those who liked the beginning of Miss Peregrine’s, where Jacob travels to the coast of Wales after the death of his grandfather.

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

This creepy novel is filled with pictures of real abandoned asylums, which gives it a fantastically scary feel. If you enjoyed the chilling, almost horror but not quite feel of Miss Peregrine’s, you’ll love this.

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

This debut is definitely on the more whimsical side, but if you liked the kids-with-superpowers aspect of Ransom Riggs’ novel, you’ll enjoy Magonia. It follows Aza, a strange teenage girl who finds out she’s part of a whole different world, one where she finally feels like she can belong.

2 thoughts on “4 books to read if you loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. Izzy Helm says:

    Hi Ava! This is Izzy from your school haha! I love to read, but knowing you personally, know that you love to read more than anyone I know! I read Miss Peregrine’s, and also one of your suggestions, Asylum by Madeline Rioux. It’s so good! Thank you so much for this list and just this whole blog! It’s immensely helpful- because I’ve been having a “reader’s block” recently. So thanks! See you at school!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s