News Years Resolutions + What I’m Excited for in 2018

Year In Review

I can’t believe 2017 is over! It feels like just yesterday I was making new years resolutions for last year. It’s been a tough year, but I’ve grown from it and there’s been many moments I know I will cherish. For instance, the transition to boarding school was a welcome challenge and I cannot wait for the next four years. However, it can be easy to overlook big (and small) moments of joy when we are faced with the current news cycle. This year, I learned it is important now more than ever to use my voice to contact my representatives, stand up for what I believe in, and to fight for my rights.

“That’s the problem. We let people say stuff, and they say it so much that it becomes okay to them and normal for us. What’s the point of having a voice if you’re gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn’t be?” – Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give


bestofBest Young Adult Books of 2017

Far From the Tree by Robin Benway. It is hard to imagine any “best books” list without Benway’s National Book Award winning Far From the Tree. This story of three siblings begins with middle child Maya grappling with giving her baby up for adoption just as she was given up for adoption sixteen years ago.

Warcross by Marie Lu. Lu’s sci-fi thriller was an unexpected favorite. I am not usually drawn to either genre, but something about heroine Emika Chen was immediately compelling.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Another novel I cannot imagine a “best books” list without. Thomas’ searing portrayal of police brutality, the Black Lives Matter movement, and what it’s like growing up black in America immediately hit a chord with readers everywhere.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. The only fantasy novel that made the list, Taylor’s highly anticipated Strange the Dreamer is not to be missed. I could not get enough of the lush world building and thoughtful story telling and I cannot wait for what Taylor has in store for us next.

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. The final installment in protagonist Lara Jean’s story reminded me of everything I loved about the classic coming of age genre. From the start, Lara Jean’s story has resonated tremendously with me, especially after I lost my mother.


Book Reviews by Ava in 2018

womensmarchlogo-680x450Book Reviews by Ava is going to be a lot different. It is simply not feasible for me to review a book a week while at school. Not to worry though. I will be posting a review at least once a month.

In addition, I hope to start writing more about social issues on this blog. I am passionate about writing and reading, but I am also passionate about creating a space for American teenagers to discuss political issues and discover ways to make their voice heard. Expect for this to manifest in the books I’m reviewing, the authors I’m writing about, and the posts I create.

What I’m Excited To Read in 2018

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card by Sara Saedi comes out February 6. Saedi’s coming-of-age memoir as an illegal, Iranian immigrant is a poignant must read.

A Reaper at the Gates, the third novel in Sabaa Tahir’s Ember series, follows Helene Aquilla, one of my favorite characters in Young Adult literature. Less memorable Elias and Laia will show up, too.

On the Come Up, Angie Thomas’ second novel comes out in May and promises to take us back to Garden Heights. After being blown away by Thomas’ debut, The Hate U Give, I am very excited to see what Thomas has in store for us next. Speaking of The Hate U Give

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles comes out March 20. In the vein of The Hate U Give, Coles’ debut follows teenage Marvin who grapples with his brother’s death in a police shooting.

Children of Blood and Bone, Tomi Adeyemi’s debut, comes out March 6. The most talked about fantasy novel coming out this year, Children of Blood and Bone follows Zélie Adebola as she ventures on a quest to bring magic back to her kingdom.


Happy 2018!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s